OxyButNotaMoron

Contradiction is my style

A Year Of Fun

Well hello again people!

Today I received a nice little surprise that I would like to share with you.

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 1.10.11 PM

 

Yes folks, I have been blogging for an entire year now! I knew this day was coming but I was unaware that WordPress would be congratulating me. So first I have to say thank you to WordPress for existing so I can voice my opinion on various topics to whoever feels like listening.

I started this blog after my friend Michelle and her boyfriend made blogs of their own. Michelle has since switched to the new blog that I have linked in her name and he hasn’t posted anything in months. I was considering making a blog for a while but I didn’t think I would ever use it and who would even care to read it. Michelle suggested I go for it anyway and OxyButNotAMoron was born.

It took me some time to think of a creative name for the blog. I knew that I could not dedicate an entire blog to just one thing because I have so many different interests and even though there are a couple of things I am deeply passionate about, there are always people who live, breathe, and sleep their passions and I am not one of those. So I had to choose a title that was general but described what I was about. I had remembered a conversation I had with Michelle one time when we were waiting to go to a cross country meet and I had said that I am an oxymoron with some things. I also was aware that the word “oxymoron” is an oxymoron itself; oxy means sharp and moron means dull. I felt that a good play on words could fit as my blog’s name and thankfully it was not used before (we all know how annoying it is to think of a screen name).

I have changed the layout on this site I don’t know how many times and finally I think that I built it in a way that fits. But that is not to say that this is the permanent layout because when I get bored online I like to rearrange things and maybe I’ll find a layout that I like even more.

Finally to the blog posts. As it can be seen from my first few posts (and probably still to this day) I had no idea what I was doing and even when I thought I had a direction I wanted to go in, halfway through the blog it would be something completely different. Typos are a common occurrence on here because I do not proof read until after I hit publish and re-read my post. Many times I will have something in mind that I wanted to say but by the time I get to a point in the post where it would make sense I have forgotten it. In almost all of my posts I forget something that I feel would have been nice to mention. Every now and then I go back and edit out the typos or add an addition to a post despite the fact that all those who wanted to read it already have. Eventually I may start to get into a routine that works on here and makes it so that I do not forget what I want to say.

To all the people who follow me and actually do read my posts, thank you for wasting your time with me! I really appreciate it. I do not plan on blogging on a regular schedule because I won’t have enough material to post about nor will I remember to stay on schedule when life actually does get in the way. I will just continue to write when I feel the inspiration. Maybe I will try to not got months without anything to give you. No promises. And I guess that is all for now.

Your friend,
For more years to come

Single Post Navigation

Speak up!

