OxyButNotaMoron

Contradiction is my style

The strength of laziness

Hellooooooooo everybody! (Read that in the voice of a really excited sports announcer)

There is one thing in our lives that we all  face. I am talking about procrastination, or laziness, whichever word you like more. I face it. You face it. That guy in the corner faces it. Let’s face it (is this too excessive?) it’s easy to be lazy. Sure there’s stuff we all want to do, but it seems that in the world we live in it is easier to go through hundreds of internet posts, play video games, watch tv, read a book, or some other activity than it is to do what we want. There are many things I want to do but don’t get around to any of it. Examples?

  • Learning to speak Finnish. If you know me you know I love metal, especially Finnish bands. I love it when they sing in their native tongue, despite the fact that I don’t understand it. I have wanted to learn Finnish for years now, I even have a program on my computer that is basically a textbook with audio that teaches Finnish. Problem is, it is hard to motivate myself to use it. Plus I feel weird using it when people are around, and I am rarely ever home alone. Also, it is not easy to learn a language when you have noone but an audio recording telling you what to say. Despite living in NYC, probably the most ethnically diverse city in the world, I know nobody who hails from Finland, or has Finnish blood. Hell, I’m sure most people I know only know Finland exists because of me. Having all these issues in my way, it is easy for me to put of learning the language I most desire to learn. If I chose a more popular language like Spanish, Italian, French, German, Greek, Russian, or any Asian language I would have no problem because so many around here speak those languages. Maybe one day I will speak this strange Nordic tongue, but not today.
  • Learning how to play the harmonica. A year or so ago my dad and I got harmonicas. We played them maybe three times then forgot about them. I tried last year to pick it up and learn it, once. In my head I see myself as a badass that can play any song on that little instrument. When I pick it up and I hear the sounds of a dying whale, I realize how wrong I am and give up. Not to mention that I just really hate doing things with other people around (as stated above, plus I am even trying to type this quietly so my mom doesn’t ask questions) which gives me no time to play it.
  • Double bass drum drumming. With all of my heavy metal music, I want to be able to play along to the songs. To do that I need to be able to comfortably use a double bass drum pedal. Alas, my laziness spreads here too. After I get through my normal practice material, I don’t feel like adding on additional exercises, despite the fact that for years I have been wanting to have and master the ability to drum at the speeds that the drummers of my favorite bands drum at.
  • Exercising. I have finally got into a routine where every weekday morning I run because I want to try out for my college’s cross country team. Beyond that, I have done no other exercises. Not that I really need to but it would help with my running. Thing is, after I come back from a run I really don’t feel like doing any other form of exercise. And there is no point in exercising later in the day because I would have to take another shower, and we all care about the Earth right?
  • Reading. Now I read a lot, but not as much as I wish I did. I am not the fastest of readers and it really depends on the book on how fast I will finish it. I wanted to read more non-fiction books this summer, mainly science related books due to the fact that I will be majoring in Forensic Science. But I also want to read books on a variety  of topics because it is good to know different things. I have read several books since I have gotten out of school and have more free time, but no where near the amount I wish I have read.  I also have an extremely long list of fiction, classics, and non-fiction books I want to read and I don’t cross books off that list as often as I wish I did because there are so many other books I want to read as well and the list always grows.

These is just some examples of the things I always put off no matter how much I want to do them. It is always easier to just push things aside and forget about them than it actually is to take the time out to complete the activity/action/other.  Now since I am lazy I am just going to end this here.

Your fr- eh too lazy

Single Post Navigation

Speak up!

